NSAA Photo Contest

The 2018-19 contest deadline has passed!  NSAA is compiling photos and will email out a voting platform to memebers soon. It’s the time of year to submit your best photos to the NSAA Photo Contest. The contest is open to all Alaska Nordic ski club members and entrants may submit three images per category.

The categories are:

  • Racing
  • Touring/Backcountry
  • Jumping
  • Kids on Skis
  • Grooming/Groomed Trails
  • Biathlon
  • Fun Ski Events
  • Recreational/Casual Skiing

Prizes will be awarded to first, second and third place selections in each category, as well as a grand prize overall winner. Winners also will be featured in the annual NSAA calendar and in an issue of the Alaska Nordic Skier Newsletter.

Send digital photo files and an entry form to admin@anchoragenordicski.com with “PHOTO CONTEST” in subject line. File format should be JPG and size should be between .05 MB and 5 MB.

2019 NSAA Photo Contest Application – PDF

Thank you to the NSAA Photo Contest Sponsor, Alaska Mountaineering & Hiking!



2017-18 Contest Winners!


1st: Dave Ward “Nats Jr 10k Cl Gong Hill Climb”

2nd: Jennifer Aist “West High Donley Climbing the Hill”

3rd: Mason Wick “All Aboard the APU Train”


1st: Elizabeth Knapp “Winter Wonderland”

2nd: Eric Parsons “Billy Finley at Mt. Wake, AK Range”

3rd: Steve Rieger “Winter Light, Independence Mine”

Kids on Skis

1st: Eric Parsons “Kicking Up Snow”

2nd: Mason Wick “Sadie Bjornsen passing on the joy of skiing”

3rd: Tyler Dann “Learning to Kick and Glide”

Groomed Trails

1st: Mason WIck “Fresh Corduroy on Lekisch Trail”

2nd: Jeremy Hinshaw “Hillside Early Morning Groom”

3rd: Dick Mize “Morning Ski”

Fun Ski Events

1st: Elizabeth Knapp “Ski Train!”

2nd: Scott Broadwell “Alaska Ski for Women”

3rd: Elizabeth Knapp “Sun Bathing”

Rec/Casual Skiing

1st: Jeremy Hinshaw “Multiuse with Lola”

2nd: Andy Kubic “Growing Family Travel”

3rd: Scott Broadwell “Skiing into the Kincaid Stadium”


Grand Prize: Jeremy Hinshaw “Skiing Back to Rabbit Lake”


Winning Photos

Grand Prize Winner! 2017-18 contest: "Skiing into Rabbit Lake" © Jeremy Hinshaw

Grand Prize Winner! 2016-17 contest: "Sunny Tracks" © Nathan Jones


Grand Prize Winner! 2015-16 contest: "2016 High School T-Bird Classic" © Matt Johnson