Scholarships & Awards

NSAA Scholarship

The 2020 Nordic Skiing Association of Anchorage Scholarship application period is February 4 – April 9, 2020.

The NSAA scholarship recognizes participation in cross-country skiing, community service, and scholastic achievements.

Applicant requirements:

  • NSAA membership for the current and preceding ski season; please contact the NSAA office to verify your membership status before applying.
  • Please note: Chugiak Eagle River Nordic Ski Club, Cross Country Alaska, and NSAA are separate organizations.
  • High school cross-country ski team participation during your junior and senior years

Specific qualifications, criteria, and applications can be found at Alaska Community Foundation website HERE.

Individual scholarships provide up to $1,500 toward educational expenses at a college or university to Alaska residents who are high school seniors.

NSAA has awarded college scholarships to Anchorage area high school seniors and college students for more than 26 years.

Questions or comments about the NSAA Scholarships Program?
Email:, 907-276-7609


2019 NSAA Scholarship Awardees

Congratulations to the 2019 NSAA Scholarship Awardees! We are proud of their accomplishments and look forward to hearing about their adventures.

Zanden McMullen Miles Dennis Maria Paez Ellie Mitchell George Cvancara Adeline Wright


NSAA Skibear Community Award

This award recognizes high school skiers who make positive contributions to the ski community. Athletes are nominated by their ski coaches at the end of the season and the award is presented at end of year celebrations.

Congrats to our 2019 Nordic Skibear Community Award Recipients! Thank you for spreading your great attitude on and off the trail and helping to build a strong ski community!


Haeley Pogue – Bartlett
Max Beiergrohslein – Chugiak
Bryce Pintner – Dimond
Carter Gladwill – Eagle River
Noah Rehberg – East
Maria Paez – Service
Ciara Hellmann – South
Jessica Yang – West

Other Scholarships Available:

Thomas K. Besh Memorial Scholarship Fund: Applications are due April 15 each year. Click here for the application.

NSAA Scholarships Recipients


George Cvancara
Miles Dennis
Zanden McMullen
Ellie Mitchell
Maria Paez
Adeline Wright


Abby Amick
Vanessa Duhrsen
Sarah Freistone
Jania Tumey


Zach Basset
Ryan Bickford
Ruth Cvancara
Sydney Gill
Elizabeth Mans


David Cvancara
Luke Cvancara
Julia Ditto
Grant Klug
Maksim Mayer
Alice Michaelson
Karina Zyatitsky


Seiji Takagi
Douglas Watts
Ana Jager
Lydia Blanchet
William Mans
Anton Clark
Annika Flynn
Riley Bickford
Alisa Aist


Celia Haering (Alaska Pacific University)
Sarissa Lammers (University of Alaska Fairbanks)
Kayla Rowe (Whitworth University)
Seiji Takagi (University of Alaska Fairbanks)
Jacob Volz (Middlebury College)
Quinlyn-Skye Wika (Gonzaga University)


Ann Spencer (Middlebury College)
Garth Schultz (APU)
Celia Haering (Montana State)
Marion Woods (University of Vermont)
Erin Baker (APU)
Otto Gilbert (UAA)
Freya Hately (APU)
Thomas Ohara (Service)